top of page

Our History

From small beginnings in 2005 the Gifted Education Secondary Teachers Association of NSW (GESTA) was proposed as the name of a group that would support teachers working in the area of gifted education. In 2006 a steering committee was formed and acknowledged Brad Gilleatt, Suzanne Plume and Lindsay Donnan for their initial vision to create a network for secondary Gifted and Talented Coordinators in the Sydney metropolitan area.


The steering committee included Kay O’Leary, Nick Green, Jenny Edwards, Ruth Targett and Brad Gilleatt and the formation of this group led to the name the organisation is known as today, the Gifted and Talented Secondary Teachers Association (GATSTA). In 2007 GATSTA was incorporated and the first Annual General Meeting was held. The first official Executive were: President: Nick Green, Vice President: Kay O’Leary, Treasurer: Jenny Edwards, Secretary: Ruth Targett, Committee Member: Brad Gilleatt. It was agreed that the organisation would seek membership with the Professional Teachers Council. A student based competition decided the logo in 2008.


In 2010 the inaugural GATSTA conference was held at Ascham which provided extremely valuable professional development for teachers. In 2012 the Cluster Day initiative was introduced as an experience that could be offered to gifted students in secondary schools. A second conference was held in 2015 at ACU, Strathfield and was another great source of information and support for teachers. GATSTA continues to operate as a support network for educators of gifted students in secondary schools.

Our Aim

GATSTA is an association operated for its members' professional benefit. Its purpose is providing education and it seeks to:  Develop a network of Gifted and Talented Coordinators and teachers in Sydney and NSW. Offer relevant and practical professional development that is also cost effective. Tap into the wealth of knowledge amongst members. Share ideas, resources and programs as well as acting as an advocacy group that supports Gifted and Talented education in NSW.

Presidents of GATSTA

Nick Green
Kay O'Leary
Anne McCallum
Janine Timillero




2017 - Current

Executive Members

Janine Timillero.jpg


Headshot profile pic (002).jpg


Jennifer Edwards.png

Vice President

Rachele Rugiero .jpg


Rachele Rugiero

Cheryl McArthur.jpg

Executive Member

bottom of page